TOGAF® - The Open Group Architecture Framework

TOGAF® – The Open Group standard enterprise architecture methodology and framework

The Open Group®, TOGAF® and ArchiMate® are trademarks of The Open Group.




The owner of TOGAF is The Open Group.

Brief history and description

TOGAF has been continuously evolved and improved by the members of The Open Group since it was first published by them in 1995. The Open Group is a global consortium that enables the achievement of business objectives through IT standards. With more than 400 member organizations, the diverse membership spans all sectors of the IT community — customers, systems and solutions suppliers, tool vendors, integrators and consultants, as well as academics and researchers.

The present TOGAF Version 9.1 is a maintenance update to TOGAF 9, addressing comments raised since the introduction of TOGAF 9 in 2009. It retains the major features and structure of TOGAF 9, thereby preserving existing investment in TOGAF, and adds further detail and clarification to what is already proven.

The standard is divided into seven parts:

  • PART I (Introduction): This part provides a high-level introduction to the key concepts of Enterprise Architecture and in particular the TOGAF approach. It contains the definitions of terms used throughout TOGAF and release notes detailing the changes between this version and the previous version of TOGAF.
  • PART II (Architecture Development Method): This is the core of TOGAF. It describes the TOGAF Architecture Development Method (ADM) – a step-by-step approach to developing an Enterprise Architecture (see figure below).
  • PART III (ADM Guidelines & Techniques): This part contains a collection of guidelines and techniques available for use in applying TOGAF and the TOGAF ADM.
  • PART IV (Architecture Content Framework): This part describes the TOGAF content framework, including a structured metamodel for architectural artifacts, the use of re-usable architecture building blocks, and an overview of typical architecture deliverables.
  • PART V (Enterprise Continuum & Tools): This part discusses appropriate taxonomies and tools to categorize and store the outputs of architecture activity within an enterprise.
  • PART VI (TOGAF Reference Models): This part provides a selection of architectural reference models, which includes the TOGAF Foundation Architecture and the Integrated Information Infrastructure Reference Model (III-RM).
  • PART VII (Architecture Capability Framework): This part discusses the organization, processes, skills, roles, and responsibilities required to establish and operate an architecture function

ADM Architecture Requirements Management (source: The Open Group)


Target Audience

Enterprise architects, business architects, IT architects, IT architects, data architects, systems architects, solutions architects, architecture service providers and tools suppliers

User communities and groups

The Open Group organization and community forms the home base for TOGAF development and knowledge sharing.

Official publisher

The Open Group Publications Catalog offers a wide range of publications. You can order hard copy publications from The Open Group official worldwide publisher, Van Haren Publishing, and its distributors.

Accreditations and qualifications

The Open Group runs an extensive certification program. In their own words:

“The Open Group provides Certification Programs for people, products and services that meet our standards. For enterprise architects and IT specialists, our certification programs provide a worldwide professional credential for knowledge, skills and experience. For IT products, The Open Group Certification Crograms offer a worldwide guarantee of conformance.” (Source: The Open Group)

Part of The Open Group Certification Program is a program for IT products that meet The Open Group standards like TOGAF®, POSIX®, UNIX® and ArchiMate®.


TOGAF compliant tool links can be found on The Open Group web-site.


Official Sites The Open Group TOGAF home page
User groups and communities The Open Group membership page
Publications The Open Group book shop
TOGAF® 9.1 Translation Glossary: English – Traditional Chinese
TOGAF® 9.1 Translation Glossary: English – Latin American Spanish
Accreditations and Qualifications The Open Group certifications
Accredited TOGAF® 9 Training Course Calendar
Tools TOGAF tools register
Other useful links n/a
FREE IBPI documents Whitepapers