IT4IT™ - Managing the Business of IT

The Open Group IT4IT Reference Architecture standard comprises a reference architecture and a value chain-based operating model for managing the business of IT. It provides the missing link between industry standards and best practices (such as ITIL, COBIT) and technology framework and tools that power the IT service management ecosystem. Using this IT4IT standard the IT function can create a blueprint of how to operate and run the IT as a business, levering using automated tools to create a lean and agile IT service provider.

The core concept is managing the IT business based upon the IT Value Chain. The IT Value Chain has four value streams supported by a reference architecture to drive efficiency and agility. The four value streams are:

- Strategy to Portfolio
- Request to Fulfill
- Requirement to Deploy
- Detect to Correct

Using these value streams the IT organization can apply Lean Principles to identify waste and find automation opportunities. Each IT Value Stream is centered on a key aspect of the service model, the essential data objects (information model), and functional components (functional model) that support it. Together, the four value streams play a vital role in helping IT control the service model as it advances through its lifecycle.

The Open Group IT4IT standard is focused on defining, sourcing, consuming, and managing IT services by looking holistically at the entire IT Value Chain. While existing frameworks and standards have placed their main emphasis on process, this standard is process-agnostic, focused instead on the data needed to manage a service through its lifecycle. It then describes the functional components (software) that are required to produce and consume the data. Once integrated together, a system of record fabric for IT management is created that ensures full visibility and traceability of the service from cradle to grave.

IT4IT is neutral with respect to development and delivery models. It is intended to support Agile as well as waterfall approaches, and lean Kanban process approaches as well as fully elaborated IT service management process models.

The IT4IT Reference Architecture provides prescriptive guidance on the specification of and interaction with a consistent service model backbone (common data model/context). It embraces and complements existing process frameworks and methodologies (e.g., ITIL®, CoBIT®, SAFe, and TOGAF®) by taking a data-focused implementation model perspective, essentially specifying an information model across the entire value chain.

The IT4IT Reference Architecture is published by The Open Group. For more information see:

Only registered users can download the attachments of this page.